Order by phone 1-800-603-0004 Open Mon-Fri 8am-5pm PDT
Sale Now On!
McIlroy has unfinished business at World Cup
U.S. Open champion Rory McIlroy says it’s a case of unfinished business at the biennial Golf World Cup to be played next month at Mission Hills Haikou, in the Chinese island province of Hainan.


The 22-year-old from Northern Ireland will once again be teaming up with countryman Graeme McDowell in an attempt to go one better after coming runner up in the 2009 event.

“Me and Graeme got beat by the Italian team [Edoardo & Francesco Molinari] last year, and we hope to gone one better this year,” McIlroy told GolfandSports.com on Sunday.

“I haven’t played with Graeme much this year, so pairing up with him again will be great.  There’s certainly more pressure; if you hit a bad shot it’s not just yourself you let down but your partner, too.”

McIlroy will be spending the next 5 out of 7 weeks in the East.

As well as the World Cup, played in November from 24-27, McIlroy will take part in two other mainland China events including the Shanghai Masters and the Sheshan WGC-HSBC Champions.

 In addition he will play in the Hong Kong Open, the Dubai World Championship and Asia’s Tour Championship in Bangkok in December.

The United States will be represented by Matt Kuchar and big-hitting Gary Woodland.

Exempt Nations (in ranking order of top player)
Germany (Martin Kaymer, Alex Cejka)
Ireland (Rory McIlroy, Graeme McDowell)
United States (Matt Kuchar, Gary Woodland)
South Africa (Charl Schwartzel, Louis Oosthuizen)
England (Ian Poulter, Justin Rose)
Sweden (Robert Karlsson, Alex Noren)
Italy (Francesco Molinari, Edoardo Molinari)
Spain (Alvaro Quiros, Miguel Angel Jimenez)
Scotland (Martin Laird, Stephen Gallacher)
Denmark (Anders Hansen, Thomas Bjorn)
France (Raphael Jacquelin, Gregory Bourdy)
Japan (Yuta Ikeda, Tetsuji Hiratsuka)
Australia (Brendan Jones, Richard Green)
Belgium (Nicolas Colsaerts, Jerome Theunis)
Colombia (Camilo Villegas, Manuel Villegas)
Wales (Jamie Donaldson, Rhys Davies)
Thailand (Thongchai Jaidee, Kiradech Aphibarnrat)
Zimbabwe (Brendon de Jonge, Bruce McDonald)  
China, who qualify as hosts, will be represented by Liang Wen-chong and Zhang Xin-jun.

Back to news list