Order by phone 1-800-603-0004 Open Mon-Fri 8am-5pm PDT
Summer Sale Now On!
Caddie hides extra club; golfer gets DQ'd
Jose Manuel Lara had his caddie to thank for disqualification from the BMW International Open in Cologne after the bagman tried to hide an extra club in some bushes during last Thursday's first round.

Argentine caddie Mathias Vinson realised that his golfer, Spain's Lara, was inadvertently carrying 15 clubs, and so the bagman attempted to dispose of the club in some thick foliage. Vinson was caught acting suspciously by Lara's playing partners Damien McGrane and Peter Hedblom and the act was reported to the authorities.

The chief referee of the European Tour, John Paramor, promptly disqualifed Lara from the tournament and Vinson has been banned from caddying "indefinitely", according to a statement released Friday.

''The penalty of disqualification was imposed . . . with Paramor and tournament director David Williams believing a serious attempt to circumvent the rules was made by the caddie,'' the statement said.

''Following an interview with Jose Manuel Lara, it was established that he had NO prior knowledge of the 15th club in his bag, or the attempt to dispose of the 15th club.''

It was established that Vinson had been running late for the tournament and in his haste had failed to check Lara's bags before tee-off.

''He was seen entering the bush with the bag of clubs by his playing partners, who thought it was a little bit suspicious,'' Paramor said. ''They went and asked the chap, 'What are you doing?' and he sort of fumbled out an answer saying, 'I've got this wrong - I've done something bad. I wish it hadn't happened, etc, etc.'

''It was clear the club was out of the bag and in the bush at the time. He admitted it straightaway and regretted his action.''

Back to news list